Posted by: Will | October 16, 2010

Painting Picasso on the iPad

The Seattle Art Museum is presenting a landmark exhibition of the works of Pablo Picasso. Along with many other residents of Seattle, I visited the exhibit today. I also brought my iPad with me, armed with the app Brushes for iPad.

First I painted my own interpretation of “Painter with Palette at his Easel” while standing in front of the original by Picasso. The image you see below was constructed on the iPad with finger strokes.

Painter with Palette at his Easel (Picasso iPainting by Will O'Brien)

And here is a time-lapse video.

That one turned out rather well if you compare it to a photo of the original I found later on the web (below).

I decided to try one more. This second one, entitled “Large Still Life on a Pedestal Table” took me about an hour. Below is the result and again you can watch the time-lapse brush strokes in the video.

Large Still Life on Pedestal Table (Picasso iPainting by Will O'Brien)

As I was painting, I started to attract a bit of a crowd including two guards who told me that photographs were not allowed. When I told them that I was painting this by hand (or finger) and showed them that my iPad does not have a camera, they were slightly stunned.

For comparison, here is a photo of the original “Still Life” painting I found on the web upon returning home.

What do you think? Maybe iPainting will be a 21st century art movement?


Responses

  1. […] Pintando como Picasso en el iPad [ING] willobrien.wordpress.com/2010/10/16/painting-picasso-on-t…  por arturo.rapido hace 2 segundos […]

  2. In addition, The Muscle Maximizer comes with a complete 9 week
    workout program for you to follow so you now have everything you need
    to get started right away and achieve the level of fitness you”.
    Yes we would like muscle, but in the right way, and gaining lean
    muscle without fat is the key to doing this. Whenever upgrades became ready you’ll fully grasp this totally free no matter what quantity of money cost to establish them.

  3. Hi there, the whole thing is going fine here and
    ofcourse every one is sharing facts, that’s genuinely fine, keep up writing.


Leave a Reply

Categories

